Queen Elizabeth Stakes

The 2014 Queen Elizabeth Stakes is set to race on the 19th of April at Randwick racecourse.

Among the Group 1 horse races, you will find 2014 Queen Elizabeth Stakes, which is the main race of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival, and which will be held during the last day of The Championships. We have the Queen Elizabeth Stakes 2014 field here.

The 2nd and 3rd weekends of April 2014 (that is the 12th and 19th respectively), will host the inaugural edition of The Championships, at Royal Randwick. The Queen Elizabeth Stakes is held alongside the following events:

•                Group 1 Sydney Cup

•                Group 1 Queen Of The Turf Stakes

•                Group 1 Australia Oaks

Plus, there will be some Group 2 and Group 3 events, as well as some Listed events.
Join Sportingbet

Queen Elizabeth Stakes Related Races

Racing fans and punters monitor the Queen Elizabeth Stakes’ winners and the top 3 finalists, to get an idea where they should stand on their Melbourne Cup bets.

Undoubtedly, the Queen Elizabeth Stakes has some of the best thoroughbreds and local stayers, including Might And Power, Doremius, and Jeune. These three horses amazed the crowds and won the Group 1, in 1998, 1996, and 1995 respectively, right after performing remarkably in the Melbourne Cup. Among the horses that have also boosted both the thrill and excitement with their stunning performances are Tulloch –came in first in 1958, 1960, and 1961-, Intergaze, who made it first to the finishing line in 1997 and 1999, and Grand Armee, the big winner of 2004 and 2005 races.

When close to the end of the Sydney Autumn Carnival, the series of lead-up races can point to the best performers. So, just pay attention to all prize winners and leading performers of the carnival (including the Group 1 Australian Derby, the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes, and Group 1 – The BMW), before you choose your Queen Elizabeth Stakes bets. You will certainly increase your potential to enjoy racing earnings!

Queen Elizabeth Stakes History

Ever since Cossack’s first memorable victory, back in 1851, the Queen Elizabeth Stakes has undergone numerous alterations, in terms of name and length. At its inception, it was a gruelling race among the toughest and most competent stayers that had to make it through an arduous 5km –or 24 furlong- distance.

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes broke into the racing world as a Principal event, and it made it all the way up to Group 1, in 1980, where it still stands. The prize money offered to the best thoroughbred of the race has climbed to an amazing $4 million, in 2014, listing the race as the most lucrative during the 2014 Sydney Racing Calendar.